FOTD: 80s Baby!!!

12 Dec

It’s flashback time! What did you love about the 80s? My favorite 80s phenomena (in no particular order) are:

  • NEON COLORS (obviously)
  • Molly Ringwald movies
  • Pre-surgical Michael
  • Pre-crack Whitney
  • Slouch socks!!!
  • Stirrup leggings
  • Ghostbusters
  • Fast Times @ Ridgemont High
  • Ferris Bueller’s Day Off
  • Dirty Dancing
  • Prince
  • Fat Luther

Ahhh… as fun as that was, I know you didn’t come here to reminisce, so let’s talk about makeup! 🙂 For this look I used NYX Cosmetics Ultra Pearl Mania in Orange Zest Pearl… NOT to be confused with Orange Pearl (see Thanksgiving FOTD). They appear similar but Orange Pearl (left) is a coppery, metallic orange, whereas Orange Zest is (right) a peachy orange speckled w/ gold glitter. Orange Zest is very sparkly w/ TONS of glitter fallout. The fallout doesn’t bother me enough not to wear it, but if you’re wearing a full face that day (concealer, foundation, etc.), you might wanna do your eyes first. NOTE: Milk was used as a base for these swatches, but they are extremely pigmented, so any flesh-colored base would work just as well.

PRIMER: NYX HD e/s base

BASE: NYX Jumbo Pencil in Milk

SHADOW: I covered my entire lower eyelid in NYX Ultra Pearl Mania in Orange Zest Pearl. I used my crease brush to apply matte fuchsia e/s to the crease & blended that upwards into matte peach e/s (Wet N Wild Greed palette). Finally I used matte plum purple e/s (from the Wet N Wild Lust palette) to deepen my outer v.

   

OTHER DETAILS… I used Wet N Wild Arch Envy brow wax & CoverGirl single e/s in Smolder to define my eyebrows & Maybelline Volume Express “Falsies” Mascara in Blackest Black on my eyelashes. I defined my upper lashline & waterline with”The Deep End” waterproof cream liner by Sephora. I also used Black Radiance Complexion Perfection Undereye Concealer (in CA8010for light to medium complexions).

FACE: Estee Lauder pressed powder in Deep (05)

CHEEKS: I used Ulta single e/s in “Sparks” on the hollows of my cheeks & Black Radiance sheer finish blush in Soft Honey on the apples.

LIPS: Carmex + L’Oreal H.I.P. lip gloss in Inviting

What are your favorite 80s moments/ trends/ music/ phenomena?

11 Responses to “FOTD: 80s Baby!!!”

  1. Tiffany December 12, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    I love your cite. I am on it all the time reading all your posts. I learn a lot. To add to the 80’s (I too am an 80’s baby lol), we can not forget about the member’s only jackets!

    • Sham December 12, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

      Thanks for following 🙂
      YES! Member’s only jackets were HOT!

  2. Karla December 12, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    OK….why did I rock this same look today…..I was feeling very 80’s

    Too funny….I must say you rocked it out girl!!
    I am learning so much from you!

    • Sham December 12, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

      Thanks Girl! Great minds think alike…

  3. Roni Lee December 13, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    I love the 80’s and this look is hot! And I now own a “Member’s Only” jacket…I scored it for less than $5 at my local thrift store and I love it! =)

    • Sham December 13, 2011 at 8:28 am #

      WOOT WOOT

  4. danielle December 13, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    Saved by the Bell!!!
    Stacked Scrunchies in the same colors as my slouchy socks!

    Your makeup is really pretty.

    • Sham December 13, 2011 at 10:39 am #

      Whatchusaygirl! Zack Morris was the love of my life, LOL!

      Did you alternate the colors of your slouch socks? One foot had yellow over a purple sock, the other foot had purple over the yellow sock… OH AND the Reebok hightop sneakers? I loved those shoes!

      • danielle December 13, 2011 at 10:51 am #

        I sure did. I would get my shoes a little bigger, to fit my socks, lol. I bet I have some pictures at home of the sock/scrunchie combination, lol.

  5. M December 16, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    LOVE! the look! :-). You are inspiring me to do more with my eye-makeup but ‘ it no worky’ lol. I guess maybe it’s the shape of my eyes? I dunno. You cracked me up with:
    1. Pre-surgery Michael
    2. Pre-crack Whitney
    3. Fat Luther!
    LOLOLOLOLOL too funny

    • Sham December 18, 2011 at 2:14 am #

      Thanks ma’am! Whatchu mean, it no worky? That purple e/s looked great on you!

Leave a comment